HGTV STAR Episode 3 Recap. & A CONTEST ALERT

THE CHALLENGE

So….after 36 hours of filming on 8 people gets edited down to an hour, there is alot that gets lost and left on the cutting room floor. So here I am going to do my OWN recap.

So when we first arrived (the 8 of us) all of us were nervous guessing Model Home, Rooftop Patio, Ohhhh Celeb Clients!

That was the popular guess, celeb clients. After climbing a couple flights of stairs we were greeted by David and a myriad of cameras. Brooks and I had talked before – WE TOTALLY NEED TO TEAM UP…. Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.18.30 PM

David told us the challenge… We had to design an apartment for 1 couple. The catch. We all had one client. They had to decide who the winner was that week.  Umm why do these people look so damn familiar!?

Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.18.40 PM

BOOM! – I have had years in luxury management for apartments, knew what residents beefs were and could solve them through design. Cool – Brooks and I could so do this.

The next part. We were working in teams and to choose our partner we had to draw keys randomly. SH-T. There were people who everyone wanted to work with and also no one wanted to work with.

At this point Abbey and Boris were both ready to “try other situations” and the same for Tylor and Cris. I had worked with Anne already and I was pretty sure Brooks wanted to work with me. The keys were pulled and you felt the immediate unspoken disappointment from half the group. Boris tried to lighten the mood by saying something to the group like “Abbey and I talked and we said that we should probably not work together anymore, and we should move on, but we are going to make the most of it!”

Brooks and I kept shooting each other looks like star crossed lovers and I was not even sure how Anne and Jeribai thought about it.Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.18.41 PM

We went in 2 by 2 to interview the couple.

Brooks and I were 3rd and immediately started jotting questions down as we waited, by the time we were called on we had a page and a half! We were RET-TO-GO! At this point I was most scared of Anne and Jeribai. Anne being the most blood thirsty competitor you will ever meet! Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.52.53 PM(You know she is serious, when she will shake your hand and tell you that herself. LOL) and Jeribai was thirsty for a win himself.

Cris, Tylor, and Abbey just seemed. …. well not happy.Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.52.51 PMScreen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.52.55 PM Boris on the other hand, like he said was going to make the most of it, and he was sure of a win with Abbey.

Our interview – was a volley of Brooks asking the Husband – Rossi

Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.54.06 PMand I covered Kasey. So basically we got double the amount of questions in then I believe the other teams did. We went up to the apartment measured, and discussed our floor plan, we came up with a floor plan within minutes. We had 15 or so minutes to discuss paint. Brooks came up with so many paint treatments and ideas then he landed on a great one. A vintage 70’s stripe…. I chimed in “like on a vintage van!?” Oh God. I thought EVERYONE is going to do stripes, but the more I processed it, then he whipped out his magic book, I caught a glimpse, Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.03.11 PMit was brilliance to do that rock and roll stripe!

The color selection – Brooks wanted high contrast, and with a Graphic like that we had to soften it up. I suggested a cool grey as a jump off and we found one and selections on the same paint strip.

THE SHOPPING

We discussed shopping over lunch and broke out! Brooks and I knew that the great sh-t was at the vintage and antique stores, Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.01.11 PMwe also knew that NONE of the other teams wanted to go there. At the antique store we found 2 tables (one of them was the gear table), a couple chairs, books, sconces brooks turned into pendant fixtures and I fell in love with a chair. In Deep LOVE.

Up next was HD Buttercup. We arrived and everyone was taking forever, and we could not go in yet – so decided to hop across the street to Rejuvenation. I peeped an AMAZING teal rug, and scooped up some accessories.  Brooks found a wire rug that we later nixed. When we finally did get to go into Buttercup, We caught Abbey and Boris skipping out wearing cowboy hats. For some reason that tickled Brooks and I to no end.

I found the lighting, Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.02.13 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.02.39 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.03.00 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.26.36 PMcoffee table, dining table, and that AMAZING buffet that we turned into a media console. Brooks spotted that funky ass sofa. I admit. It was DOPE. I found a HUGE sketch of an abstract nude, done with a charcoal medium.  I grabbed it. Sh-t. I was confident at that point we won.

We retuned to the apartment and painting had begun, Brooks and I marked the wall were the graphic was gonna live, marked it for the painters, and time was called for the night.

We went to our house and the “family’ -us designers immediately begun our regular routines… Balcony e-smoking and chatter, wine and snacks(I was a part of this group) and our phone calls for the night. Having no TV, cellulars, or internet we were used to keeping each other company and well entertained. I went to bed-fell fast asleep in the room I shared with Abbey, and then I heard two loud “SLAMS” WTF!?

I got up, listed at the door, just like any nosey person would, and came to the conclusion that there was a fight.

I was filled in that next morning that Tylor and Cris had gotten into it that night. Drama over the challenge I guess.

Next morning –

We were greeted by the Editor and Cheif of HGTV Magazine, Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.05.38 PMshe told us that the winning apartment would be featured. WHOLLY Crap! I so need to be published, I think that is the point where I lifted my hands in prayer like right there in the scene.

We soon after got to shop at One Kings Lane – Brooks and I went after Abbey and Boris, I snatched those orange chairs, Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.11.45 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.11.32 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.11.47 PM 1a rug to Layer over the teal one, some pillows, and I grabbed some “just in case” art. My entire strategy through this entire process was to shop in excess, and get extra of everything. – I did a lil booty shake and we were up!

The only thing that was left was plants, accessories, and window treatments. Talk about an easy day 2 shopping trip. Brooks and I worked really well together but we decided to cover the most ground and split up. Our strategy was Brooks find the plants, and I travel with Cris and Anne to get accessories. Me ALWAYS WORRIED ABOUT TIME, was concerned traveling with 2 others. I wanted to be back by lunch, no needed to be back by lunch to get the place styled and done. But first the camera challenge.

We got to go one at a time, as you saw everyones challenge sucked, including mine where I went ON AND ON about Invisible furniture. Funny as hell when you think about it.  Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.10.38 PM

Yes- people, I do know that you can see furniture!

Brooks got to go by his self to the hardware store and was back in a snap.

While out with Anne and Cris I learned how pissed Cris was that someone had blabbed about what had happened at the house the night before -it had got back to production. Damn. She was for-real not being herself. We got our drapes from West Elm, Anne included.

We all had to then break for lunch which seemed to take supa-long on this day.

Me – worried about time, called to check in called Brooks and he had our furniture placed, and damn near everything accounted for. Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.13.05 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.13.04 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.13.02 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.12.58 PMHomie is the poster boy for ADD, and I loved it!

The other girls called and seemed stressed and I could do nothing but gloat when I heard the tone of their conversations. Anne mad about how long things were taking – and Jeribai not knowing exactly how far along they were, and Cris was just PIST-forreal about that paint color. I made a joke about how we looked like three busted ass bridesmaids holding bunches of dead ass flowers! Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.13.13 PMWe laughed – I just wanted to lighten the mood.

We got back, super-duper rush to the finish line, moving, moving, styling, styling things around. Then time was called, and was done.

We hated not being able to see everyone else’s space. Boy oh boy, did I try to break my neck to see what was happening.

Tylor told me that he was going to be known as the “Balling Betty” I guess he had a moment, in tears, that had been caught on camera – damn dude. I made a season 7 Myra reference and we (well I ) laughed most of the rest of the night over drinks.

THE EVALUATION:

You saw what happened in evaluation. They Hated Tylors Green Paint choice – called puke green or something like that,Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.29.28 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.58.38 PMHated Cris’ Art they called it cheap.

Here is where it got weird…Boris and Abbey kinda evaluated themselves, by getting into it right there in the evaluation, on camera about a bookshelf.Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.32.32 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.32.39 PM Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 10.32.23 PMIt felt like when your parents would argue in front of you, or worse argue in front of your friends…I am sure everyone knows that feeling, RIGHT?… I vaguely remember Annes and Jeribai’s feed back but I do remember the barbed wire comment and Anne talking about her missing drapes.

Brooks and I won here is the space!

Screen shot 2013-06-24 at 9.25.37 PM

we were geeked, then did a semi-correographed dance and were sent out.

Then found out that Tylor and Cris had been given the Ax.

The last two eliminations were hard. I made instant connections with Jessie, Cris, and Tylor in the house. And now they were all gone, and after elimination we were not allowed to speak to them AT-ALL.  I know that I was not there to make friends, but I have said it before, and will keep saying it, I walked away with some great ones.

THE CONTEST

Soooooo – enough of the sappy stuff. I want to know who your picks are for the final two AND the winner. Please don’t pick me because you love me, pick as if you are picking for a gamble…The winning guesses – will get entered into a contest for a $50.00 Giftcard to Homegoods. POST YOUR GUESSES RIGHT HERE ON THE COMMENT SECTION OF THE BLOG. The winner will be announced 1 day after the finale It will be on a Monday. You MUST GUESS CORRECTLY ON BOTH THE FINAL TWO AND THE WINNER.  – entries must be received by Monday, July 1st at Midnight.

P.S.

Please continue to vote Me (Tiffany Brooks) as your fan favorite. At  fanvote.hgtv.com. They do not spam you. Trust me I vote a bunch of times per day. Also, please excuse the typos – its been a long flipp’n day!

Your Chicago Interior Designer

My top 10 striped rooms. By Tiffany Brooks Chicago Interior Designer * Interior Stylist

Tiffany Brooks, Season 8 Finalist HGTVStar

5 replies

  1. From day 1, I’ve had you and Brooks as my final two. I think you’ll be the winner because you comes across well on camera and are a team player. I’ve only felt as strongly as I do for you and Brooks about one other contestant – Emily Henderson. I hope I’m right!

    Like

  2. I can’t play along because i’m your husband. But I can tell the world that you left your mark and i’m super proud of you. HGTV don’t need to tell me that you’re a star!

    Like

  3. Absolutely stunning space!! I would expect nothing less from my girl!! Remember…takin you to Charlotte with me! So rewarding to see you on this show…sooooo well deserved! You are as awesome of a person as you are a designer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

