6 Great (Inexpensive) Ways To Use Art You Already Own.

Yep – I am official dodging the Thanksgiving posts that my other home decorating blogger counter parts have already posted. I cannot seem to get in the mood for it this year. Last night, I even went out to purchase my table and fall decor items for dinner, and ended up getting ALL of my Christmas Decorations WTH?! FYI – This year I am sporting a black and white and green tree adorned with tons of OZZYOSBOURNEsque crosses. Totally me.

This post is another way for me to skip Thanksgiving. So instead of recipes and turkey table scapes, I am talking art today. Ways to layer, fill your walls, and showcase art all on a budget, using stuff you already have.

#1 Collect every piece of piece of art in your room (or home) and gather them on one wall for a huge installation. 

Design By Anne Coyle

Design By Anne Coyle

#2 Use the images from sofa table books as art.

(You know the books that show imagery from fashion, travel, art)  That’s right cut em out and hang em high people. No one really needs to know where and how you found the prints!

You can also use images from Instagram!

You can also use images from Instagram!

#3 Make your console tables more interesting while still using your family photos.

From Pinterest

From Pinterest

Now don’t hate me when I say this, but family photos are only interesting to the homeowners. People only pretend to like them. Its harsh but true. However, there s a way to “mix it up.” Have your family photos reprinted on different sizes and layer them on your console tables with other items. Use sculpture, plants,  graphic post cards, and books. You can take it a step further by framing your family photos and displaying them using easels.

Design By Eric Cohler via House Beautiful

Design By Eric Cohler via House Beautiful

#4 Pedestals!

These structures can make anything seem grand from a sculpture that is worth 50 Grand to a 20 dollar house plant.

Bilhuber Sculpture in House Beautiful

Bilhuber Sculpture in House Beautiful

From House Beautiful

From House Beautiful

#5 Photo Collages are making a comeback!

From We Montage

From We Montage

After seeing one in a Spanish fusion restaurant, I am officially a fan of photo collages. They are relatively affordable to produce and totally personable. Check out https://www.wemontage.com/ to get started on yours. My next one will be making an appearance on a powder room ceiling!

#6 Dig out your moms photo albums.

Photo albums are a source of great memories and it consistently makes people smile once they flip through them. They are like yearbooks that pertain to your family. Instead of all of those great memories stored away in a dusty album, I say pull them out, blow up the images, and frame them. A great source of inexpensive frames is the Ribba collection from Ikea. 

Now its your turn, take this post, print it out and use it as a guide to inexpensively rethink your art.

Your Interior Designer & HGTV Host

Tiffany Brooks

8 replies

  1. I love this, Tiffany!

    But what about affordable framing ideas? That is where I always get stuck. I have two very productive artists at home, so content is not a problem 😉

    Like

  2. Thank you for this! I have been doing this for the past year, trying to adorn our home with family memories…digging up old pics etc My husband is a fan of white space so I tread softly. I love more and more lol! But seeing your posts, there is really a tasteful way to do add more. Awesome!

    Like

Leave a Reply

