Garage Offices???…

I have searched low and high, and basically all over Lake County for an office that is functional, affordable, has enough square feet, and convenient in location. I have burned through 3 realtors, and bored the bah-Jezus out of countless family members and friends searching for this seemingly non-existent space.

Here is the backstory. Me and 2 other girls work out of my loft that is on the second floor of my home. Its pretty, but small for us. We have 3 desks, a very large (and growing) collection of samples, a library, phones, printers, and up to 3 computers in this 170 sq.ft. space. We are on top of each other, and to add fuel to the fire my 69 year old mum lives in my home, and her bedroom is right next to our loft space. We often either hear her snoring during her scheduled 2 PM nap, or my accountant catches her while she is on her way to Curves 3X per week. Don’t even get me started on days when there is no school, and My 10 year old is on deck.

 The final straw of this arrangement fluttered out of the sky when I had the accountant working, my assitant there, and mom trekking back and forth the the restroom during the meeting. So not a chic sit-u-ation.

I need a space outside my home. 

I decided that the money is not worth RENTING a space in my stomping grounds of Antioch. In the 6 years I have been in business, I have gotten 4 clients from the town. I live in a village of DIYers and fishermen, not folks ringing my phone anytime soon. 

After speaking with a long time friend, who belongs on the boards of many, many associations, we sorta co-decided that I need to have a boutique shop on Main Street, USA. The closest one to me…Libertyville, IL. We came to the conclusion that I would co-habitate the space with a trendy architect, in hopes to mix things up there with a minority owned business. Talk about perfect!!!

Anxiously, I checked the going rental rates for the location…. and it is WAAAAYYYYY over the budget. I mean, I could move in me, an architect, an art person, and a cupcake lady (the later for selfish  reasons) split the rent, and still be over budget. Damn. Libertyville is still an ideal/dream option, but Damn.

So I got tho thinking, well i got to Pinteresting, came across these before and afters from blogger Desiree Spinner’s digs, and thought what if, I turned my garage into my office…..

Desiree’s Before


Desiree’s Before


During Construction


Desiree After

Desiree’s Office After
 
 
 
 
 

Desiree’s Office After
 
 
 
 
 

Desiree’s Office After 

Now people I am really excited that this may happen. I have gotten other excited as well – My hot shot Architect brother, and my contractor are all on deck.  See more of the above reno here:

http://www.inspiredbythis.com/business/inspired-by-la-petite-peachs-white-and-mint-new-england-office-2/

 

Tara – (she is the friend) My move out of Antioch still may happen, especially if the cost is equivelent to my first born child!

Stay tuned.

Tiffany Brooks

3 replies

  1. This is very interesting, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your feed and look forward to in the hunt for extra of your magnificent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks

    Like

Leave a Reply

