Good Question. What To Do For My Windows?

Tiffany – I have decorated my house on my own and now I am stuck at what to do with my windows. I want to know what is your favorite way to treat windows? – Sandy G

First off. Window treatments can be expensive. I tell my clients to designate no less than 10% of their entire design budget to the widows. Just an example: A Hunter Douglas motorized shade typically starts no less then $450.00 for 1 standard sized window. Yep – close to $500.00 for a single window with no drapes. Oh – My- GAH!

Now that I got that disclaimer out of the way – Windows can make or break the overall look and feel of your room. So buck up, put your big girl panties on, and invest in them. Here are some of my favorite looks and advice on how to achieve them.

1. Layering. I love to layer a textured roman or shade with a patterned drape. It is one of the most affordable options, and the added texture that it adds to a room is often needed.

by Candice Olson

by Candice Olson

by Candice Olson

by Candice Olson

by Candice Olson

by Candice Olson

Layered 2 Layered

By Julia Buckingham

By Julia Buckingham

1. Dressmaker Details. Thoughtfully designed window treatments with trims, tapes, pleats, and tucks are some of my favorites as well. These treatments (as they all are) are an investment in design time and money, but in the end they are a STUH-NING addition to any space.

via traditional home

via traditional home

 via pinterest

via pinterest

via mosslounge.com

via mosslounge.com

Schumacher Ad For Mary McDonald

Schumacher Ad For Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

By Steven Gambrel

By Steven Gambrel

by Katie Ridder

by Katie Ridder

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

1. A Touch of “Muchness”. I am talking over the top, damn near gaudy treatments. The type that look like they belong in a castle or Tory Burch showroom. I love these because they are packed with personality and vintage flair.

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

Miles Redd

Miles Redd

via Elle Decor

via Elle Decor

Miles Redd

Miles Redd

1. Lined Tight, Lined Right. Most people default to the white lining or an ivory lining with their drapes. They are concerned about the uniformity of how the house looks from the outside. I say toss that care “out the window” gurl, and do a patterned lining in a contrasting fabric! If you are concerned about the sun fading, this style of treatment works really well with a shade layered under the drapery. My Queen, Mary McDonald is the authority in this type of drapery lining!

Steven Gambrel

Steven Gambrel

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

Mary McDonald

 

1. K.I.S.S. Keep It Simple Shade. Ha! I know it’s “keep it simple stupid, but we are talking about windows right! Anyway I digress. The simple solution that works with almost any window, is a simple roman shade with a bad ass pattern. Take a look-see!

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

by Julia Buckingham

by Julia Buckingham

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

via pinterest

Now the best solution to all of your window woes… is to have a designer sort it all out. Think of us like a therapist for your drapes – or lack there of. Hands down – that is the easiest path to window treatment satisfaction.

Many Blessings!

Tiffany Brooks

 

 

 

 

 

Need me to design your window treatments? I can help. Yep, even if you are far, far, away. Click here for the details.

8 replies

  1. You are so right! As a custom window decorator for a large firm (now I’m retired), so many times after the cost is revealed, I was looked at as if I had two heads. I felt like I was CIA, I started writing down the final cost on a small sheet of paper, folding it in half and sliding the paper across the table to them in silence. Then sat quietly as they discussed it in whispers. (too funny). But seriously, Custom treatments are property investments and most remain in the home. Some do not understand. Love this post.

    Like

  2. Love the layered curtains. It’s a beautiful idea and makes the room look so elegant. The colors are complimenting each other in every room. Great eye for detail adds to the beauty. Would love to have a decor like this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

